BnB: The possibility of Bill and Quinn?

BnB QuillThere are about half a million things I would have expected to happen before seeing Bill and Quinn together.  Before believing this pairing was even possible?  I would have quit my job and bought a beach house in Malibu – all on the promise of soon purchasing my winning super lottery ticket.  My first thought, as a Quinn fan, is sheer revulsion!  Why?  Quinn, as written, could do so much better than Bill on her worst days… SO much better.  Bill is tainted by his callous disregard for other people.  He seems so  uncaring and one dimensional that it literally pains me to watch him onscreen -not figuratively, I mean literally.  Friends, like love, your soaps aren’t supposed to hurt!  He meets the very definition of the stereotypical powerful man who is unethical and filled avarice, to the point of being able to sell his mother (or child’s happiness) for a buck.

The more I thought about the possibility, the more I almost like it. (As you read that, I hope you put the emphasis on almost because I don’t trust anything to do with Bill Spencer, yet.)  Given the fact that Bill and Quinn have a tendency to go to dark places, for different reasons, of course, a lot of interesting things could happen on this show.

What would make the difference in a Quill pairing that we didn’t see with Katie or Brooke?  Quinn is written as a woman strong enough to tame that beast.  Quinn doesn’t back down. She is never fearful.  She is Bill’s alter ego, his very scarily tough and much  smarter alter ego. If Bill yells, Quinn is the woman who will yell right back and back him into a corner.   I do believe that there are lines Quinn won’t cross – which is how she differs from Bill.  Even though I fully expected her to know a goon she could call on a moment’s notice to give Liam a good beat down, leaving him naked and amnesic on a beach somewhere, I was surprised that her seemingly menacing phone call was only a call to Ally to have her put on her Saturday Night best and go out to meet Liam for dinner.  Quinn is a study in contradictions and I appreciate the fact that the writers keep giving her layers and, consequently, depth.

I have been living to see Bill bend to the will of a strong woman, rather than choosing women who won’t fight back.  Katie stood up to him more than anyone, but even she relented and accepted that Bill “is who he is”. Not.Good.Enough.  Brooke pretty much gave Bill anything he wanted.  He calls those things love and it reads, to me at least, as love of self and one’s on selfish needs.  I would like to know what the writers would do differently with Bill in the presence of a woman who has as strong a personality as his own.  I don’t want the writers to break his spirit, just his massive ego and his inability to have a real connection to anyone.   It’s been easy for me to not cheer on Bill on with anyone because all of his pairings have left the women he’s been with as bit players in their own lives (Steffy included).

BnB Rick Sneers at WyattWhat if he does get back together with Quinn and she decides she wants controlling interest in FC so that she and Wyatt not only have their jewelry line, but a secure place in FC?  (For Wyatt – to keep him close to Hope because there is no way she is going to stop manipulating that poor kid’s life)  What if Bill agrees to help her, but not for Wyatt’s sake?  He’s still angry at Brooke for not loving him as he’d hoped ignoring his own role in losing his family.  His attack on FC is directed at Brooke for breaking his heart, and at Ridge for being the man Brooke has always loved more than any other.

To the rescue?  Rick! I’ll be honest, when Rick stared Wyatt down and threatened to destroy him over the PR stunt, I had to change my clothes. I won’t tell you why, because I’ve already shared too much.  Let’s just say that I don’t want to meet reel life Rick Forrester in a heavily produced  perfectly dimmed dark alley way!  No ma’am, no sir, that’s not for me, but that scene helped me remember just how vicious a guy Rick can be, when pushed (and makes me recall Jacob Young’s seamlessly perfect portrayal of cutthroat scheming mogul, JR Chandler,  on All My Children).  Rick has fought back challenges from Ridge in the past, and most recently from Thorne and Thomas.  It’s time for Forrester Creations to take on a real challenger, another cutthroat like Bill, without resolving things on the runway.  Imagine the tensions and tests of loyalty between Caroline and Rick, Hope and Wyatt, Katie and Ridge, Katie and Karen, Brooke and Ridge, Ally and Wyatt, Thorne and His family (if Quinn and Bill promise him a permanent role as FC President), so many opttions!

Soapgods, if you’re listening, Rick Forrester is all grown up now.  He’s ready for the role of a man casting his own shadow instead of living in the shadow of his father and brothers.  If Bill makes a move on FC, let Rick make a move on whatever wealth Bill has, and any remaining stock he has in Spencer.  Give us Dallas in the daytime!  It’s time for Rick to leave FC for Ridge and Thorne to fight over — if Thorne ever comes back from Paris.  On a side note, does anyone think that Winsor Harmon (Thorne) might be away promoting the incredible looking Cathedral Canyon?

Ridge and Katie
I am torn between thinking that Liam completely shamed Katie into walking away or that he reminded Katie of who she really is at heart.   Well, break my heart, why don’t you? I, for one, don’t expect the Brooke-Ridge marriage to happen.  Sooner or later Ridge will remember his feelings for Katie.  Katie will never forget her feelings for Ridge.  If it does happen, I don’t expect them to cheat while Ridge and Brooke are together – and it would be disappointing if they did.  If they cheat, I’ll be the hypocrite I hate being and forgive them, but I hope they wait because I don’t see Ridge and Brooke being long term and I think the two have already built something that can wait and could last long term.  I would love for Ridge to walk away from a possible marriage to Brooke if his heart isn’t in it and go back to Katie.

BnB Tormented KarRi

Admittedly there is a part of me that wanted Katie to avoid the hand wringing and tears. Without thought of revenge her sister or care for another person a small part of me – the part that has a hard time delaying gratification, wants the writers to skip the long and slow romance and have Katie throw caution to the wind and (in my best Bill Spencer voice) make Ridge her bitch!  Sure, true love and all that, but Katie needs to just be swept up in something wild and uncontrollable and FUN!  Katie has been hurting for SO long that I want to see her happy, now!  She risked her life to have a child, she battled mental illness,  she lost her husband to her sister, she was betrayed by the husband she was willing to forgive. Reel life has not been kind to Katie the last several years.

So what am I saying here?  Did I just confuse you?  This storyline has caught me off guard and left me confused as well.  In short, I don’t want Katie at odds with Brooke. I would love for the sisters to reunite and be stronger than ever.  That aside, I will take Ridge and Katie in whatever form I get them, and I will ignore that selfish part of me that wants them fast, wants them now, and I am willing to watch the romance unfold, if it’s in the cards for them!  Maybe this time, Broke will step aside, and allow her sister to have the happiness that has been denied to her for so very long.

Need a place to play?  The Gallery will be open, soon!  REGISTER HERE and come join me!

Leave a Reply

