BnB: The Bold and the Bare-chested!

BnB_Bill and Katie#boldandbeautiful.  I keep waiting for the magical moment when Bill Spencer is bowed and broken, dogged by the realization that his treatment of poor Katie was deplorable –  so much so that this new awakening crushes his spirit.  In my imagination, it’s the beginning of his redemption.  He learns that he is not infallible and that his abusive treatment of those around him, women in particular, can only be described as dehumanizing during his best behaved moments. Penny Bill begins cops to his 99 problems and learns how to be  a human, again – assuming he was ever human in the first place.  Before he can find someone to love, he is determined to learn how to become worthy of that love.

Are you laughing yet? You should be. Arrogant men don’t pay for their horrid actions on the BnB – they become pseudo heroes, so I am going to have to  find consolation where I can. The powers that be gave that to me today, in the form of a SHIRTLESS Bill Spencer!  It’s superficial, yes, and I feel no shame about developing a burning desire to wipe the man’s sweat away.  Don’t get any ideas, PTB, keeping him shirtless will only make the audience immune to that bangin’ body.  Don Diamont is a SEXY BEAST! Bill Spencer is a putz!

Even still, is it wrong that I want to set up picture-in-picture so that there is always an image of shirtless  DD. on screen?  It’s not like I don’t have other options, I just don’t think my family would appreciate images of a shirtless unfamiliar man being wallpapered on our breakfast room walls. Thank goodness I failed to hit the fast forward button on the Brooke and Bill scenes, as I typically do and will continue to do in the future.

Quinn/Rena and Wyatt/Darin

EUREKA!  I couldn’t figure out what was gnawing at me about the casting for Quinn (Rena Sofer) and Wyatt (Darin Brooks).  I’ve finally put my finger watching the Murder Mystery Club at work, today, busting Wyatt for his heinous crimes.  But Wyatt didn’t commit murder, you say?  We’ll get to that later.  Liam, Pam, and Charlie described a very different Wyatt and Quinn than the mother and son I thought I was watching.  Their descriptions of them were  so very different that as I started thinking about the duo and whether the actors were giving off clues that I was  foolishly missing.  While I’m grateful for it, I’ve never understood the casting choices for this pair.  Sofer looks much too young to be Wyatt’s mother and they are so different in their looks as family members (yeah, yeah, I get it, they’re not really related).  It’s just that casting for families is usually based on physical similarities in some way — Brooke and her children, for example.

Why these two actors, together?

Here goes:  Rena Sofer and Darin Brooks were cast, I think, because of one trait they share in common, both are capable of giving “great face”!  It is what makes them quite similar as mother and son.  With both actors, the same face that expresses warmth, love and care can also express the potential for bedevilment, anger, and some other undefinable quality with  a moment’s transition.  I still get chills when I think of Sofer’s Quinn drawing blood  from B.S. without so much as breaking a sweat.  It’s subtle, it’s amazing, and it means that both can play any type of character the writers want them to play.  I think that despite the dialogue and current plot, it’s that intangible quality that allows the audience to read into the characters whatever it is they see in them.  Both are capable of doing more with a facial expression and silence than most other actors (in any genre) are capable of doing with full Greek chorus standing behind them announcing each scene. True or not, I’m pretty convinced that Sofer can stop time with a single look!

BnB_Bill and DeaconThe vibe I get from Quinn and Wyatt is one of fierce determinism.  Without support from Bill, Quinn raised a son, built a business and kept moving through the hard times.   It’s a trait that she seems to have passed on to Wyatt and I hope the writers allow him to show his kinder, gentler “Quinn side” in fighting back and reclaiming his love – should this revelation break apart Hope and Wyatt.

Wyatt, Hope, Liam, Quinn, Charlie, Pam

Can someone explain to me what Wyatt has done that warrants the take down planned by Liam, Pam and Charlie?

  • Did he have a black market buyer set up for the Hope Diamond?  Was he planning to sell it and skip the country?
  • Were he and Quinn planning to crack that rock and turn it into a matching necklace, earring and headband set for Hope?
  • Are Wyatt and Quinn secretly funding their struggling drug cartel’s business expenses with chips they’ve been stealthily taking from the diamond?
  • No? None of that?

So what is this “scandal” about?  I could understand the concern that Wyatt didn’t clue Hope in on the publicity stunt, and I’m sure she would have stopped him, but the (lack of) drama surrounding this is almost making Liam and the group look petty.  It’s just not a scandal worthy of rocking a young couple’s burgeoning love and it’s a real waste of an opportunity to jump into Wyatt’s backstory – because surely there are more challenges waiting there.

As written, Liam is presenting the news as if he’s uncovered the six love children and five women left raising them, that Wyatt deserted up and down the coast.  Liam is breaking in on the camping trip as if he has photo evidence of Wyatt involved in  illicit affairs with Hope’s mother, sister, and aunts.  The heightened emotion around this storyline feels off base.  This is the evidence that Wyatt and Quinn are criminal masterminds and uber sociopaths?  Unless this is the beginning of finding out that every precious stone they’ve touched has come up missing, this is pretty much a dud of a storyline.  It becomes more comical than dramatic.  Liam, Charlie and Pam overplayed their hand, and I hope the results from the great reveal reflect that.

Pam? That poor woman tied Donna Logan to a chair at Big Bear cabin, covered her with honey, and set a bear loose on her.  She nearly killed Eric with poisoned lemon bars, and then continued to torment Donna like that woman stole money from her. Pam received treatment after nearly killing both Donna and Eric, but the constant attacks on Donna took place post treatment.  While I am glad that Pam was too smart to fall for Quinn’s attempt to buy her friendship, I am disappointed that her “second chances” speech was a lie.  The woman still serves lemon bars, for pity sake. She was healed, was forgiven, and moved on to a happy life, one she now shares with Charlie.

As for Liam, I want to like the guy.  I’m REALLY trying, but I shouldn’t have to try this hard.  Scott Clifton is a fabulous actor and I followed him from GH, to OLTL, and now the BnB.   There is something about Liam that Clifton can’t cure. It’s the writing for the character.  It’s hard to take Liam seriously, the man who repeatedly broke Hope’s heart to take up with his father’s discarded mistress-in-waiting.  Liam defends his ex-wife and father, who have done far worse than anything Wyatt or Quinn have ever considered doing.  Unless Deacon was brought to justice during a time when I wasn’t watching this show, there is a fugitive from the law still on the loose, thanks to Bill.  Maybe Liam, Pam and Charlie can track him down with their newly found super sleuthing skills and cart him back to wherever he belongs!

The NEW Gobsmacked Gallery Message board (companion board to this site) is now open.  Click HERE to register.  If there’s a board you want and it’s not there, let me know!

2 thoughts on “BnB: The Bold and the Bare-chested!

  1. Since Hope is going to marry Wyatt; I won’t be watching this soap anymore. It is ridiculous.
    Wyatt really is like is mother. Sneaky while trying for Hope. Liam shouldn’t have trusted him.

Leave a Reply

