RHOBH: I’m sorry, I tried

RHOBH_KimKyle

I have been trying to write a summary for the RHOBH since the show aired. Not.Easy.Folks.  Not easy.  What did I love? Hands down,  Kim Richards made the show for me.  With warm regards to the rest of the show, each time I sat down,  the closest I got to writing a review was this…. zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz.  I fell asleep TWICE— TWICE!  I have the show on DVR, and I just can’t make myself watch it.  What you read below is based on what I remember:

For all of the criticism poor Kim gets, on and off screen, the thing I have always loved about her is that she seems to have a good heart.  It has always separated her from the rest of the group for me.  Watching Kim, who is typically fragile and withdrawn from the wives, at the signing gig was a thing of joy to behold  (and, yes, I was a huge Hello Larry Fan! You may openly mock me, now.)  I was impressed by the touching way she genuinely and tenderly embraced her fans.  Some actors don’t mind mocking their fans as a little creepy, obsessed, odd, whatever.   Not Kim.  It saddened me to think that the admiration from her fans may be the most consistent unconditional support she has received (outside of the love of her children).  Somehow, Kim has managed to hang on to a pretty healthy fanbase who remember the sweet-eyed girl with a life more tragic than anyone would have suspected.

Despite her past issues with her sister Kyle, I think the sisters have been magic together on screen lately.  Did I want to bear witness to Kyle’s waxing session in the episode before? No.  Was it worth it to see Kyle and Kim behave like giddy children together?  Ok,yes.  I’m never sure who has the most accurate memory of their childhood, but if I’m guessing, the truth is somewhere in the middle.  It appears to me that the sisters adored each other then and adore each other now.  Bonus points for Kim and Aunt Kyle for utterly horrifying Kim’s daughter, Kimberly, with their regressive banter about “tweeters”.  They were like 14 year olds in the salon, and young Kimberly looked as if she would have sold an appendage to be anywhere but in that salon with them.  Well done!  It was one of the most genuine  family moments we’ve seen on the show.   That warmth and love in this family comes through now (and for me as a viewer, that wasn’t always the case).  If it’s true that she’s going through deeply troubling times, I wish Kim Richards well.  I hope that she and her family recover and that she  gets to find the happiness she seems to enjoy bringing to others.  The most recent scenes between the sisters are the scenes that help me let go of the limo take down by sister Kyle seasons before.  Those scenes help me RHOBH_KimKyle2ignore the  disapproving glances that seem to breed massive insecurity in Kim when sister Kathy is around.  It gives me hope that there is a chance for a real life for a former child star whose fame helped support a family, but did little to help her survive a world that can be both loving and cruel.

I hope that some day, soon, Kim will find someone she loves, who will love her unconditionally – someone who will be  a fighter at her side in what will surely be a lifelong battle for sobriety.  Some find money.  Some find fame. Some find love. Some find it all.  I wish for love and happiness for Kim and whatever  wonderful life comes with that.

As for the rest of it?

Yolanda?  I just can’t.  Her gift to her daughter was touching and thoughtful.  I’ll leave it at that. Oh, ok, one more thing… is it just me or does King David seem to be less than amused by Brandi’s potty mouth?  I think I’m starting to like that guy!

Brandi?  I just won’t.  I refuse to fill my beautiful mind with thoughts of Brandi, today.  I see sunshine outside my window. Catch me another day.

Carlton?  Why, Bravogods, WHY?  Tell me what I have to sacrifice to get you to dump her from this show (fattened cow, favorite jeans, peanut butter cookie habit)?  I’ll do it, no problem!

Either the editing monkeys are playing fast and loose with audience, or Kyle thinks about Carlton as often as I do … which is almost never.  I am irritated by the feeling that two Carlton Gebbias show up to every scene.  The first Carlton sets the wives up to say something stupid.  “I’ll put a hex on you”, from Carlton becomes,  “Did you put a hex on me?”,  from one of the wives.  The second Carlton swoops in and accuses the women of slandering a religion I’m not sure she even understands.  Carlton2 then declares war on the sandbagged housewife who dared ask the questions Carlton1 implicitly and explicitly prompted her to ask.

I’ll retract at least one statement I made earlier.  I can’t bring myself hurt a living thing so the cow is out.  I will preemptively burn my jeans and not buy another peanut butter cookie until news of the next season’s cast is announced.  If that woman returns, I will accept the fact that I was a real ass in my past life, take it as my punishment, and learn to fast forward any scene she’s in, or move on to a new show.

Make that, move on to a new show.  Even I couldn’t have been that big of an ass!

 

As usual, property rights to all images are retained by their original owners.

Leave a Reply

