Why I no longer blog about soaps

Hello, all.  If you’re still reading this blog and occasionally checking it, I owe you a huge apology.  I just reviewed the blog posting  calendar and it seems that I haven’t updated since August.  Time flies when you’re having fun… not watching soaps –  which is why I haven’t been blogging… I’m just not watching the stuff.  I quit the day I realized that I had to strain to find something positive to say about daytime.

Coming up with a decent comment about daytime is the equivalent of fishing a diamond ring out of a dirty toilet bowl.  Oh sure, you know that if you find the diamond there’s a huge payoff, but is it really worth having to dig around in crap to find a hidden gem?  I don’t think so.  No one is that desperate.  Just find a replacement!  That’s what i did.  Daytime?  DONE!  I hope those of you who love the genre are still enjoying it.  I’m moving on to other things.  And hey, sorry about the toilet bowl humor.  It’s just the mood I’m in when I discuss daytime soaps.

I plan to continue blogging, but about anything and everything (everything but daytime that is).

To DOOL writers – Eat it for making me wait too long for Sami and Rafe.  I was done when Sami shot Ej and then had to pretend they were still in love to help him through his injury.  Only in daytime do writers try to make heroes and love interests out of rapists.  Every other genre uses good men and women to hunt rapists down and put them in prison.  The world grew up, daytime stayed the same.

TO BnB writers/producers/directors: – LOOOOONG done with you, folks.  By the time Brooke and Oliver were sexing up the wall, I was deprogramming the timer.  Thanks for the extra half hour.  I’ve put it to good use.

T0 YnR writers/producers/directors:  Has anyone affiliated with the current regime ever thought of ways of trying to make characters like Adam, Phyllis, Lily, Chance, or others interesting without having to destroy at least half of the remaining cast to make the above appear useful by comparison?

To GH writers/producers/directors: – <sigh>  All hope is lost.  I won’t even bother to tell you why GH got the kiss off from me – not that you care.  I’m pretty sure that even if you did care, it wouldn’t make a difference.  You’d continue to write, produce, and direct the exact same tripe.

To OLTL writers/producers/directors: – Rex, Todd, Kelly and her insane instant love for nuJoey after having left her son behind, the pregnant Buchanan sisters, The Ford brothers and their parents,  John McBain, etc, etc, etc.

To AMC writers/producers/directors:  There is just not enough bandwidth to cover your issues.  Your love for Ryan (and Greenlee) is akin to GH’s obsession with Sonny… You’re the duller sleep producing version of GH in my opinion.  I’m falling asleep just thinking about you.

All I can say is that I feel FREE, and refuse to go back.

Readers and friends, see you around and thanks to all of you who made this blogspot your home for so long.  If you’re interested in something other than daytime, I hope to see you around again, soon.

One thought on “Why I no longer blog about soaps

  1. OLTL killed off Evangeline this year. I was keeping up with the show from a distance, but I stopped watching in 2007 when they first put her in a coma. Now, that they killed her off, no need to even bother. Nothing else on the show interest me. I will never invest in another soap opera. Just not worth it anymore. So many other things in life to worry about and love.

Leave a Reply

