Why AMC scares me…

AMC scares me because I actually <gulp> LIKE the show!  After so long of not caring whether the show was on or not, something is happening, and it’s huge (for me at least):

1.  Ryan Lavery has long been the bane of my existence.  Since he dumped Kendall and married Greenlee that  first time, I’ve despised the character with a flaming hot passion — which then makes it odd that he’s so often left me feeling cold.  Each of his prior relationships has been about him being the ‘big man’ who rescues and saves  each woman deemed ‘lucky’ enough to share his bed.  With Madison it’s different.  Whatever it is she brings to the screen (a strength that the others didn’t have, less need for rescue, the ability to ‘speak loudly’ even when she doesn’t say a word), it’s working for this show, and for Ryan.  She makes him tolerable and  I actually want to see more of them together!

I hope Binks is wrong and that Ryan isn’t still in love with Greenlee, only that he’s convinced himself that he is.  It’s time to sink that ship for good.  CM’s Ryan sinks to the level of the woman he’s with most of the time – despite the fact that he’s supposed to be the ‘good guy’, the ‘guiding force’ leading immature women into adulthood.  With Greenlee (and Kendall, and Annie, and…) Ryan was equally immature, substituting obnoxious faux  righteousness for maturity.  With Madison he is open, and honest, and reflective.  I’d like to see more of that from Ryan.  I’d forgotten that I once liked the character, until this past week.

2.  David and Greenlee.  RB’s Greenlee has never been an interesting character to me – not one time EVER.  Sure, I know it’s soap blasphemy to not whorship La Budig’s spoiled ill-tempered Greens, I get it.  I just don’t get her appeal.  The closest she’s ever come to working as a character is her relationship with Leo.  So, it makes sense that as friends-  or more, she’d work with David.   Other than the difference in hair color and age, the brothers had a lot in common.  Of course, Leo was  reformed bad boy.  David is a bad boy who became an unapologetic bad man… and did I thank you for that writers?   Greenlee is, with David, who I’ve always seen her as – together they are a malicious and wicked good time.  Thank you, again, writers.

4.NuBianca… Why not double down?  I’m all about the soap blasphemy, today.  I LOVE NuBianca.  I love her for several reasons, the most important being that in this case a fresh face really does feel like a fresh start for the character.  ER’s Bianca was lovely, but after some time her Bianca became a bit pious and tiresome.  The writers worked too hard to make her a wide-eyed doe in need of protection no matter how many life experiences she’d had that should have toughened her up.   NuBianca really sells it.  Her confrontations with Greenlee/David over Erica and Fusion were priceless.  This time I was rooting for Bianca simply because she was Bianca and not just because it was Greens she was in battle with – she felt like a young girl battling soul swallowing behemoths.

5.  Erica and Jackson.  I don’t care what the time or location is, I think I’ll always root for Erica and Jackson.  I loved them when Jackson was in love with Erica even though she was married to his brother.  While Travis wanted the perfect politician’s wife (and who was he fooling other than himself?), Jackson wanted Erica -mind, body, and soul.  She didn’t have to ‘become’ the woman he could see himself living the rest of his life with – as Travis had.  He already knew she was perfect for him.

The writers are teasing fans with the prospect of a reunion between the pair – after a battle between Jack and Erica’s mountain man rescuer, Caleb I’m sure … or is either man meant  for Krystal… or should we expect a Krystal/Caleb/Erica/Jackson quadrangle? How will this work?  Krystal will want Jackson, who’ll want Erica, who’ll want Caleb?  And just who will Caleb want, in return?

Time will tell.  It’s back to the drawing board for me.  This storyline, and those mentioned above have me intrigued AMCers.   What about you?  What are you loving (or not loving so much) about AMC?

One thought on “Why AMC scares me…

  1. Tho AMC still bores me to death because it continues to just rewrite (and not well) the same tried and true soap melodramatic stories – I am really enjoying the chemistry between Ryan and Madison. I, too, haven’t liked him since he dumped Kendall after his return for Greenlee. And I hope that pairing sticks because now that Zach’s gone there’s really no couple I find interesting on the show.. I thought I was going to like David and Greens, but I don’t. And I’m not looking forward to another ‘deballing’ of Jack by Erica for Caleb who, right now, is a totally ridiculous character w/ no appeal whatsoever (and I like Michael Nouri). But liking a soap or not is so subjective – I haven’t like AMC in a long time. ;o(

Leave a Reply

