Unbreak My Heart, ATWT

Oh Luke. How I’ve loved you as my very own fictional child. I’ve defended you. I’ve believed in the writers’ willingness to maintain your integrity (my bad), and I’ve wished for nothing but good things for your character. In the end…who DIDN’T know that the writers would make use of the kid’s maternal DNA to allow him to behave like a jackass?

It’s now clear that like his mother, no man will ever be enough to make Luke happy. It’s impossible…the writers will never allow it. They will be as consistent with Luke and Lily as they have been with Paul and his parents. Of any man he COULD have made out with…his grandmother’s husband? A man she’s very much in love with? GREAT!!!! LOVELY!!!

I knew Maddie’s return would be problematic for Nuke and that there would have to be some question about Noah’s sexuality – but this? And for LUKE to behave this way after Noah told him there was nothing going on with Maddie? Unreal. Where is this breakdown in trust coming from? That’s the bigger plot to explore. Does Luke feel unworthy of being loved? Why doesn’t he trust Noah?

Noah has been loyal, loving, and faithful. What does he get in return? Petty, petulent, childlike behavior. It makes me upset with myself that I still want these two to work things out – because Noah clearly deserves better!.

So does Lucinda. Even if you believe that Noah’s attention to Maddie’s heartbreak was over the top and caused Luke’s hurt feelings- what did Lu do to warrant such a betrayal? While it’s not the same, not by a long shot, Luke making out with his grabby grandpa made me think of vengeful, vindictive Lily overturning her adoption to stick it to Lu. At least at that time there was some basis for the ugly betrayal. Nothing excuses Luke for this – in my book.

Noah – brother, you may as well buy yourself a flannel shirt, work as a stable hand, and start calling yourself Holden. Your lifetime of love with Luke is going to get a hell of a lot worse before it gets better.

Leave a Reply

