The Unspoken rule of seduction

You have to be totally insane to not  know that Michelle Stafford’s Phyllis is smokin’ hot, with a body just made for sinnin’.  Trust me, if I had a body like that, I’d wear lingerie all day long, even to the office.  Oh, no, I don’t mean just under my suits, I mean INSTEAD of a suit.

That statement is probably just scary enough to cause you to question exactly what is it I do for a living… Is wearing lingerie to work going a little too far?  Yes, you’re right.  It is – but I’d sure be tempted.  Fine,  I’d still wear lingerie 24 hours a day, but it would be under my suits!

What I don’t get about seduction scenes is who wrote the rules for them?  Daytime isn’t the only guilty drama.  Was there some writers’ guild meeting where someone decided that any time there’s a seduction scene that women have to be near nude, but men must remain fully dressed?   Where is MY eye candy?  Why was Phyllis down to her black dental floss lingerie, but Nick Newman was still fully dressed?  Don’t actresses end up with clothing burns during these scenes?  Not only are the guys fully dressed, they end up rubbing against their undressed love interests.

Last week’s seduction scenes with the BnB’s Brooke and Ridge Forrester were pretty much the same.  She was dressed in red hot lingerie while Ridge was fully dressed during their seduction scenes.  To the BnB writers’ credit, Brooke forced Ridge to remove his clothing, piece by piece.  It was cute, it was sexy, and very playful (uh, and it made the E! Channel’s Talk Soup, as most BnB scenes seem to do).  We need more scenes like that, not just in daytime but across the board.  You’ll see what I’m talking about roughly 4 minutes  and 5 seconds into the clip:

I think it’s appalling that women are objectified while male characters remain fully in control.   It speaks to the implicit view writers have about female characters.  It’s hardly an accident that in almost any film or television show in which this occurs, women are the significantly weaker partner in the relationship.  My preference?  Women in control who objectify male characters.  Turnabout is fair play, after all.

Last?  I did enjoy one line in the Nick-Phyllis scenes above all others.  Phyllis commented that when she decided to seduce her husband, she wanted to make sure to do it right… BADA BING!  As soon as she said it, my immediate response was, ‘At least you know you’re doing it ‘all wrong’ when you’re seducing someone else’s husband’… oh, ok, BAD BAD BAD… but hey, she’s Phyllis and I couldn’t help it.

Don’t get me wrong, I always fluctuate between loving Phyllis (mainly with Jack) and loving-to-hate Phyllis.  I have a feeling I’ll be loving Phyllis soon.  She’s just done more to ensure the reunion of Nick and Sharon than anything either would have been able to do on their own.  What would make Phyllis think that working to split Sharon and Jack up would be a good thing?  Nick is already making a point of seeking Sharon out whenever he can… now he’ll be consoling/comforting a single woman.  Consoling/comforting in daytime?  The act almost always means that the two people involved will end up in bed together — which, I’m sure means that Sharon will be in skimpy lingerie while Nick, fully dressed, gawks before groping.

I have to admit my admiration for women like Katherine Kelly Lang (Brooke, Bold and the Beautiful), Michelle Stafford and Sharon Case (Phyllis and Sharon, Young and the Restless) – I have to take my hat off to you, ladies.  I can’t imagine the courage it takes to wear the ‘seduction gear’ you wear onscreen, year after year.   They’re absolutely beautiful and ageless… now, ladies, help a sister out and talk to the writers about making sure your male onscreen counterparts are showing the same courage you do!

Leave a Reply

