Dear Jack…

By the time you read this letter, I’ll be gone.  I’m returning to my one and only true love, Nicholas Newman.  Jack, please, understand that it’s not that I didn’t love you, I did.   You have been kind to me and loved me in ways I never thought any other man would.  You were an unexpected, and much needed, surprise in my life.

You were there for me when I needed someone most, and for that I’ll be forever grateful.  The problem is that I now realize that I still have feelings for my ex-husband.  It’s not you, Jack, it’s me.  There is a part of me that will always remember what we had.  We’ll always have Paris (oops… sorry!)

You don’t know how much it grieves me to break your heart the way ‘that woman’ did, the one you married before me.  I’m a better woman than that, and yet I’ve still hurt you.  Please know that it wasn’t intentional and if there was a way for me to split myself in two, I would.  I will always wonder if we would have made it, had Nick not come back into my life.

The problem is that  I just can’t live a lie any more – we both deserve better than that, most especially you.  I wish you well and hope you find someone who loves you the way you deserve to be loved.  I’ll have my things picked up in the morning and delivered to the Newman Ranch.

Love Sharon.

Any bets on how long it will be before good ole’ Jack receives a letter similar to the one above?  He’s already asking Sharon if he’ll always come in second to Nick.  That he HAD to ask the question should have been his first clue.  Jack use to be smarter than that.  The writers made Jack a little ‘soft’ when they turned him into the model husband.  Where is the Jack of old, the guy who knew a lie when he heard it because he’d told so many of his own?  I’m all for growth in characters but there are times when I’ like a little more of the characters I once knew.

I’m ready for the return of Nick and Sharon and Jack and the she-devil (you call her Phyllis!).  Writers, if you want to make me a very happy girl, please put the cherry on the sundae and make that child Jack’s daughter.  Somehow it seems fitting that the man who delivered her, and who wanted to be her father more than anything in the world actually is.

2 thoughts on “Dear Jack…

  1. No no no no no!

    Nick must be Summer’s daddy. Otherwise, it would mean he falsified the results…and that would undermine our view of Nick as a man of integrity.

    I like Nick, Sharon, Phyllis. I like each one, and I like both of Nick’s pairings.

    I accept Nick-Sharon as the “end game”, but I hope they take a decade to get there!

Leave a Reply

