The most pleasant surprises

There are soap events I never expected to like (or hadn’t even thought about) until they happened:

YnR –  I love the Victor/Nikki dynamic, when it’s not abusive on his end.  I love that Nikki feels something so deep for Victor that it hits her so unexpectedly that she has no idea what to do with it.  Victor’s boat washes ashore and Nikki begins drinking again thinkng the great man, himself, is dead. KUDOS to the writers.  Even though they somehow managed to forget about Victor’s vasectomy and had him get Sabrina pregnant, they made good use of Nikki’s earlier troubles with alcoholism.  I can’t wait for the promised fireworks when Mr. Mumbles and Nikki are reunited.  You know he’s going to break the magical spell MTS’ Nikki is casting and he’ll be total bastard to her.   More is the pity.

Nikki’s drunken rants to Katherine?  PRICELESS.  That’s when you know who your real friends are, and the friendship between these two women is legendary. Not many women in daytime are written as having long-term friendships. The writers deserve credit for realizing how perfect this one is.

General Hospital.  It’s been difficult for me to see Sonny as a leading romantic lead since the end of Sonny-Brenda, and then Sonny-Carly.  Every other woman he’s been with is just another putrid shade of ‘Agent Hannah Scott’ – Oh the horror.  I don’t know WHY it works, but Sonny and Kate work wonderfully well.  There’s an ‘almost’ respect Sonny has for Kate that he hasn’t had for any other woman.  He’s softer with her, more gentle.   She’s less obnoxious with him.  The relationship with Kate hasn’t changed my mind about Sonny or Kate, individually.  They both drive me batty, but together they have something new and different.

I also love the new dynamic between Carly and Jax.  She’s working hard to stop him from becoming a grumpy old man, and he’s working hard to help her grow up before her children do.  They feel like an old married couple,  with a lot of hot passion.

Guiding Light… <sigh>  I despise ‘G’.  Grady is a boil on the butt of daytime.  YET, I gotta admit to being mildly entertained by his call to the police to report Rafe.  If only the cheesy one-cop-with-a-bullhorn scene hadn’t followed.  The house was surrounded?  Really?  Next time?  Spring for a full police force.  Grady phoned in a call about hostage taker loaded to the nines.  There should have been a SWAT time surrounding the place.  I actually changed the channel after watching that scene, and almost forgot to tune back in.  Glad I finally remembered that GL was on,  because I enjoyed watching Grady snicker while he held Daisy – pretending not to know about Rafe being arrested. 

Ah… if only he hadn’t been such a lowlife when he was first introduced.  Attempted rape, and then murder is something very few characters have been able to come back from.  I don’t see Grady as being one of those who will make a come back.  Too much has happened and the writing for him is too weak.   I have a feeling the conflict between Cyrus and Grady is setting the stage for his departure.  Cyrus is finally opening his eyes to what sort of person his brother is.  At some point, Cyrus will have to set aside his guilt over not being around for Grady’s childhood, and he’s going to have to turn on him.  Oddly enough, I’m looking forward to that day (assuming the writers eventually get it, that it has to happen in order to save Cyrus).  I’m not looking forward to it JUST to get rid of Grady, but because any conflct scenes between these two brothers has to be explosive!

As The World Turns.  Seeing Lucy Walsh onscreen more than once a week?  I never expected to see it happen again in my life time.  Thank you writers.  Watching La Walsh fall for yet another sleazy guy in the workplace?  No thank you, writers.  I’m hoping Lucy picks up on Brian’s act and nails him before… he nails her… ah!  You knew that was coming.  Kudos to those who viewers who’ve suggested that Brian COULD be Craig, with reconstructive surgery.  I don’t know how to feel about that (since Scott Bryce and Hunt Block are the only actors I’ve been able to love in the role).  I’d love to have Scott Bryce back if Craig resurfaces. 

I <gulp> liked Holden and Carly’s date.  I liked that it was so awkward.  I liked the fact that Holden tracked Carly down when she ran out on him, to prove to her that what they have is real.  It’s the first decent thing Holden has done since this wacked out relationship began.  I’m starting to believe that Holden’s feelings for Carly are real and that it’s not just about sexual gratification for him.  Having him show up at Carly’s and refuse to give up on their relationship, for just a moment, reminded me of ‘Holden the stable boy’… hot, smoldering, and irrestible… 

ATWT fans are clamoring for a Katie-Brad baby.  When would they find the time? Katie and Brad have been pretty busy raising Liberty and protecting her in way that her mother can’t, or won’t.  They’ve proven themselves to be the great parents (much like Tom and Margo or Kim and Bob).  I get it, Katie/Brad fans, I get it.  I’m with you.  I’d love to see these two focus on their family and have children.  There’s something special in the relationship between these two characters.  I’d love to see MORE Katie and Brad, LESS Jack and Janet and LESS Liberty and Parker.

One Life to Live – Two pathological people.  Double the mayhem?  Double the trouble?  No, double the fun!  Todd and Tess, the uncle niece from hell.  There’s an obvious connection that Tess and Todd have that Jessica and Todd could never have.  If only they weren’t working hard to cover up the fact that Todd is hiding Marty – that’s just creepy on both ends.  Tess felt she was ‘held captive’ when Jess resurfaced – not a twinge of sympathy for Marty?  Oh well.  Hey, writers, why not have Tess and Todd running ‘The Sun’?  Why not have them team up in business?  Despite the fact that they’re both a brick shy of a load, having them work together somehow makes each of them seem less psychotic.

All My Children – Annie!  Annie, Annie, Annie… the writers wait until the very end to make her interesting?  WTH?   Too bad, this show needs a character like Annie.  Dealing with a dillweed like Ryan would push almost any woman over the edge, at least Annie’s insanity is entertaining.  I want Annie to stick around, and make the rest of Pine Valley miserable, at least until her plots are foiled she moves on to the next one. Can you imagine and Annie-Adam pairing?  Krystal, who?

Leave a Reply

